Attributes & Definitions

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Attributes & Definitions

This page helps to understand Attributes and Definitions used.


Grade 1 EEE parts typically meet the highest reliability standards, and have been subjected to independent verification. Additionally, Grade 1 parts are manufactured with the greatest amount of element evaluation, traceability, in-process testing and final screening as compared to other parts of the same type, but different reliability grades. Grade 1 parts are those produced under assurance classes providing the highest possible level of quality and reliability (e.g. ESCC, QML Class V & K, JANS for discrete semiconductors, QPL Class S, Failure Rate Level (FRL) S).

Grade 2 EEE parts typically meet rigorous (but not the highest) military or industry reliability standards, and have been subjected to independent verification. Grade 2 parts may be manufactured at facilities that also manufacture Grade 1 parts, but typically with less element evaluation, traceability, in-process testing and final screening as compared to Grade 1 parts of the same type. Grade 2 parts are those produced under assurance classes recognized by to have a high level of quality and reliability (e.g. QML Q & H, QPL Class B, JANTXV for discrete semiconductors, FRL R or P).

Grade 3 EEE parts typically meet military or industry standards for reliability, but there may be significant exceptions, such as omitted tests or reduced temperature ranges. Manufacturing and testing of parts may not have been independently verified. Traceability to manufacturing lot may not be available. Grade 3 contains many advanced electronic functions (from a space flight applications standpoint). Parts listed are those produced by reputable manufacturers under a recognized quality assurance system (ER, QML, QPL, ISO 9000) or their equivalent.

Grade 4 EEE parts typically meet vendor standards for self-defined or commercial market place reliability criteria, but have not been independently verified. Grade 4 EEE parts can also be referred to as COTS. Traceability to manufacturing lot or testing data may not be available. Additionally, homogeneity cannot be assumed in terms of manufacturer facility, manufacturing lot, die origin, etc., when purchasing multiples of a specific part. Finally, most aspects of COTS part manufacturing are subject to change by the manufacturer without notice to the customer, potentially nullifying any previous qualification efforts.

EM Engineering Model parts are Flight representative in FFF (Form, Fit and Function)
The EM’s are used for functional qualification, except redundancy verification, failure survival demonstration and parameter drift checking.
The EM is also used for final validation of test facilities and GSE and the related procedures.




Export Control Classification Number (ECCN) and Export Administration Regulation (EAR99)

Most of the products, services, and technologies that fall within the scope of the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) are not specifically controlled for export, and are given the classification of EAR99. They fall under U.S. Department of Commerce jurisdiction and are not listed on the Commerce Control List (CCL). EAR99 items generally consist of low-technology consumer goods and do not require a license in most situations.  

  • EAR99 items can generally be exported without a license but exporters of EAR99 items still need to perform careful due diligence to ensure the item is not going to an embargoed or sanctioned country, a prohibited end-user, or used in a prohibited end-use. If your proposed export of an EAR99 item is to an embargoed country, to an end-user of concern, or in support of a prohibited end-use, you may be required to obtain a license.
  • ECCN (short for Export Control Classification Number), is a designation that an item, which can be a tangible or intangible (i.e., software or technology), is controlled because of its specific performance characteristics, qualities, or designed-end use. Unlike an EAR99 designation, which is a broad basket category, an ECCN is much more narrowly defined and are focused on product categories. An ECCN is a five-digit alphanumeric designations that categorize items based on the nature of the product, i.e. type of commodity, software, or technology and its respective technical parameters. An example of an ECCN is 0A979, which corresponds to police helmets and shields. Learn more by viewing the link on how to determine your ECCN.
  • DU (short for Dual Use) Dual-use items are goods, software and technology that can be used for both civilian and military applications. The EU controls the export, transit, brokering and technical assistance of dual-use items so that it can contribute to international peace and security and prevent the proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction. Learn more Dual-use trade controls

For additional information  :

US Bureau of Industry and Security’s

EU Import and Export rules

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishFrenchItalianRussian